Nominations open until 1 February 2023.


What is the IACS Early Career Scientist (ECS) Award?

The IACS Early Career Scientist (ECS) Prize is a cash prize of €1000 awarded every two years to two early career scientists who have published the best scientific papers on a cryospheric subject as assessed by an independent evaluation committee. The objective of the prize is to recognize excellence in cryospheric science by honouring and promoting two ECS scientists, and to draw attention to the work of IACS.

Awardees must be IACS members by the time the award is received.

Nomination guidelines

The award is given for a scientific paper. Papers must be focused on a cryospheric topic represented by any of the current IACS divisions or IACS standing groups. The nominee must be an early-career scientist defined as a person who is currently enrolled in a PhD/MSc program or (if no longer a PhD/MSc student) whose highest academic degree (PhD, MSc) was obtained no longer than 2 years before the submission deadline.

Only papers published in international peer-reviewed journals with a doi (printed or online) between 1 January 2021 and 31 December 2022 will be considered. Papers published in ‘Discussions’ will not be considered.

Click here to download the nomination form which must be submitted together with the pdf of the paper. Any person, except the nominee and members of the evaluation committee, can submit a nomination. Nomination packages (including the fully completed nomination form and the paper) should be sent to the chair of the nomination committee (Regine Hock). Incomplete nomination packages will not be considered.

Nominated papers should present novel ideas, concepts, theories, or methods. Papers presenting results using existing established methods, or papers producing evidence to support an existing theory, or papers presenting new data or observations without presenting novel ideas/concepts/theories or methods will be judged less favorably. The type of journal or extent of media attention will not be considered in the evaluation. More information on the evaluation criteria is given on the nomination form.

Nomination deadline: 1 February 2023.

Read more about IACS and the ECS Award here.

Cover image by Gabriel Garcia Marengo.

Newsletter subscription