MRI Governance

The MRI Board (Chair and co-Principal Investigators), together with the MRI Science Leadership Council and the MRI Executive Director, constitute the MRI Governing Body. Together, they oversee and provide strategic direction and advice to support the implementation and development of both flagship and community-led activities, with the support of the Coordination Office staff.

As a team, we focus on supporting the mountain research community in making meaningful and fulfilling connections for our changing mountains and safeguarding them as social-ecological treasures for ecosystems and people worldwide.

Learn more about us:

Meet the team

Prof. Jörg Balsiger

Principal Investigator, since 2016
Chair, since 2019
Co-Chair, 2016 – 2019

Prof. Adrienne Grêt-Regamey

Principal Investigator, since 2013

Dr. Theresa Tribaldos

Principal Investigator, since 2021

Dr. Christian Rixen

Principal Investigator, since 2023

Irasema Alcántara-Ayala

National Autonomous University of Mexico

Aster Gebrekirstos

World Agroforestry Centre

Ricardo Grau

National University of Tucumán

Margreth Keiler

Institute for Interdisciplinary Mountain Research, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Rob Marchant

University of York

Bryan Mark

Ohio State University